The Gold Scales SITE MAP

Dwadashamsa Arrangements

RESERVATIONS Dwadashamsas in Indian Astrology – COLLECTION  

Dwadashamsas in Astrology

We can enhance our astrological interpretations by considerations of how each sign of the zodiac is subdivided into twelve segments of 2 1/2 degree each.

First, the zodiac is an imaginary band in the heavens - from earth we may study the sun, moon, and the planets as they seemingly traverse along it (as observed from Earth)- and the zodiac is divided into twelve segments - the astrological signs. Each sign is 30 degrees long, and each sign has a key symbol. The symbol of the first sign is a ram in Western astrology, the symbol of the second sign is a bull, and so on. The symbols are formed to indicate something about what qualities that go with any such segment (star sign) and quite easy to remember. Hence, the appointed first sign in Western astrology is Aries, the Ram. Taurus the Bull comes next, and so on in a cycle. The sun traverses that cycle in about a year.

Second, the word dwadashamsa - dwad, in short - is Sanskrit, and means 12-division. The reckoning and calculations of dwad (dwadashamsa) thinking rests on the idea that each sign has 12 sub-segments of the zodiac within itself, according to that "A whole (zodiac) is reflected in its parts (each sign) somehow, one way or another, or in several ways". Now there are differences of opinion as to how dwads are to sorted and arranged, in what order, and what "sign dwad" had better be the first dwad of any sign.

The traditional method of dwad arrangement has that the first dwad of Scorpio is the Scorpio dwad, the first dwad of Sagittarius is the Sagittarious dwad. The first dwad of Aries is the Aries dwad, and the first dwad of Taurus is the Taurus dwad, and so on, all the way round the circle. That is a way to mete out the segments. I do not find it worth mentioning any other main ways of dividing each sign into dwads, but some such ways exist.

Astrology and horoscope interpretations are due to interpreted correspondences, and there are many such correspondences in Jyotish, that is, Indian astrology. And Buddha seems to caution against astrology, to protect followers from getting fooled. One side to this is that much common astrology does not take into account one's spiritual standing or development, but seeks alignments mainly, and not so much proficiency, whereas the Gentle Middle Way is designed to help us on and up in a good way that avoids extremes and cramped beliefs. Yet astrology forms part of the ancient Buddhist tradition too, especially in Mahayana Buddhism. I for my part do not have a very cramped attitude to astrology: and suggest you inspect the matter at hand skilfully enough before you form any stiff opinions or verdicts about it.













1.  0 - 2
2.  2 - 5
3.  5 - 7
4.  7 - 10
5.  10 - 12
6.  12 - 15
7.  15 - 17
8.  17 - 20
9.  20 - 22
10.  22 - 25
11.  25 - 27
12.  27 - 30

Read the table in this way: For each segment of 2 1/2 degree a sign dwad is given, by use of the conventional astrological symbol.

The twelve dwads of a sign are seen in the vertical column beneath the astrological sign. And the first dwad of a sign is a dwad that corresponds to the sign itself. This is the so-called traditional way of considering the dwadashamsas, or dwads. By way of example, the first dwad of Aries is an Aries dwad. The first dwad of Taurus is a Taurus dwad, and so on. To interpret a dwad, place the Sign on top of the Sign Dwad, considering that the dwad is deeper (subtler), and thus can need more time to manifest fitly, "under the wide, encompassing wings of its sign", so to speak. Example:

Suppose you have got your sun in Lib(ra) 21, that is, somewhere between 20 and 21 degrees of Libra, the Scales. According to the traditional way of accessing dwads, the sun is here in Libra's Gem(ini) dwad, (see the table), and it can be written like this: ♎ / ♊, and understood as on the page referred to.

To study the sun's or any other planet's placement in your horoscope, taking dwads into account is a set, formidable way in Indian astrology. Well equipped with strategic key words for the planet, sign, and dwad sign, you get more to consider.

Linking Up

If you would like to assemble some further information to consider for each dwad you look into, you can link up your tentative proposals related to dwads, to:

  1. Sabian symbols for each degree of the zodiac. In the example it is "A Sunday crowd enjoying the beach" -
  2. I Ching hexagrams. In the example it is HEXAGRAM 42, of harvesting and not being swayed by unfortunate events, but tend to harvesting and other sides to "good fortune" as is fit.
  3. And see whether you discover any constructive outlets by structural Tao-constructivism. [Example].

Further, the signs of the zodiac have other names in Chinese astrology. It might be fun to consider these too.

Key Symbols

In the table below, Western signs are first, a few alternatives are put in brackets, and suggested alternatives from Chinese astrology are in italics:

  1. Aries, Ram (Beaver) — Rat
  2. Taurus, Bull (Hedgehog) — Ox
  3. Gemini, Twins — Tiger
  4. Cancer, Crab (Cat) — Rabbit
  5. Leo (Hippo) — Dragon
  6. Virgo (Goose) — Snake
  7. Libra, Scales — Horse
  8. Scorpio, Eagle — Goat, sheep
  9. Sagittarius — Monkey
  10. Capricorn (Hermit) — Rooster
  11. Aquarius — Dog
  12. Pisces (Dolphins) — Pig

Griffins abounding

The griffin was looked on as a protector from evil in the ancient Persian empire. Later, it has fairly often been depicted with the head of an eagle, the body of a lion, and the wings of a dragon. In architectural decoration the griffin is usually a four-footed beast with wings and the head of a leopard or tiger with horns, or with the head and beak of an eagle. There are other uses of griffins as symbols too. So there is room for variation. We can use this and combine animals according to the scheme and see what libido-outlets could suit us, remembering "The head comes first" . . .

The example, Libra 21, gives the quite griffin-like combination of Horse over Tiger, Chinese way - equalling a "scaly" head uniting the bodies of twins, indicating there can be much to weigh and consider. That is also the case if a horse's head and neck are on a tiger's body and desires and blunt taming of the tiger is not an option, but flourishing -

As I see it, the various animals of such stylised representations indicate nature-allied sides to the unfoldment of each sign. The "Horse-headed tiger" seems to call for some thinking to sort out which natural and libidous outlets are confirmed by key sides to nature's unfoldments and the stylised and dominant shapes and behaviours of the animals. Haphazard allotments of animals to the signs will not do. And this survey of main symbols serve as a check on any statement purported to be valid for each and every sign and dwad. [More correspondence thinking]

After some work you have a package of tentative words that may or may not be stringed (sorted and arranged in order) to serve you into old age. Such an art depend on smartness also.

There is a great need to get the various tenets of such structuralist thinking confirmed too. Till then, what is presented here is to be taken as just entertainment.

A wheel

Dwadashamsas in Indian Astrology 
Dwadashamsas in Indian Astrology - END MATTER

Dwadashamsas in Indian Astrology, LITERATURE  

Dwadashamsas in Indian Astrology - TO TOP SET ARCHIVE SECTION NEXT

Dwadashamsas in Indian Astrology USER'S GUIDE to abbreviations, the site's bibliography, letter codes, dictionaries, site design and navigation, tips for searching the site and page referrals. [LINK]
© 1998–2011, Tormod Kinnes, MPhil [E-MAIL]  —  Disclaimer: LINK]